Updates…..or a long rant…….

It’s been awhile since I’ve written, re-posted or done anything  on my blog site. Mid-2015 to now has been hectic. I’ve moved to a bigger, bustling city and accepted a new job (hopefully the last full-time teaching job I’ll ever have). Life changes are always stressful but coupled with raising a teenager and a seven year old it crosses into chaotic. During this process my writing has suffered, to the point that I haven’t written anything in months. Basically my writing “mojo” went on hiatus and recently just returned.  This experience has reminded me (daily) that teaching is psychologically and emotionally draining (especially when at the middle school level) and parenting along with it kinda left me feeling like a zombie.

One day while sitting at my desk I looked at my calendar and realized it was November. Something inside of me woke up. When I moved I had plans to buckle down and write. With the goal of transitioning to a part-time teaching position (at the elementary level) and the goal of becoming a full-time editor/ writer. I hadn’t made any progress. Realizing it was November 1st and I wasn’t closer to achieving my goals scared me. Let’s face it life is short. I don’t want to wonder in five years, ten years or even twenty years why I didn’t follow through. Coupled with the fact 2015 is almost over and soon it will be 2016 — a fire has been smoldering inside of me.

I think the universe agreed because the next day I received first chapter edits back from a well-known freelance editor. I made a spur of the moment decision back in September to attend a local chapter of RWA and won the free critique. 

Her words were encouraging and she seemed enthusiastic about my work.

So what am I doing now……….

I’ve enrolled in a six week online editing course. I’m actually participating and doing the assignments. I’m working on my manuscripts and am determined to finish both of them (OK at least one) by the end of this year. And I’m reading again. My current book list includes:

A Mad Zombie Party by Gena Showalter

About A Vampire by Lynsay Sands

So I’ll be posting updates weekly on this journey to get shit done.

Until the next time….

Yolanda

Leave a Reply

